Default Home
Subject Help Info 4U Library Info Whats Up
Ask a Librarian
Search for Information
Subjects
Subject Guides

Science Fair Center

Information to help you create a dynamic science fair project!


Here are the resources the library has on this topic:

Databases

You can enter the subject "science fair" to find articles about doing specific projects, or type in your specific subject to find entries that will help you with your research. For example, if your project is about solar powered engines, type in the subject "solar energy" to find related information.

Use this resource for research information after you choose your topic.

Another souce for research information about your topic.

Some teachers do not allow you to use encyclopedia articles for the research you have to cite, but you can still start here for an overview of your subject. This will help you know how best to search the other sources.

Another encyclopedia, but a bit more basic than the Encyclopedia Brittanica

Catalog Subject Headings

Check here for books and other materials on this topic owned by the library

~A good place to start especially if you don't know what type of science project you want to do. If you already know the general area you want to focus on, look at some of the following headings:









Bibliographies

Books to help with science fair projects.

Web Site Links

Project How-to's

Nine steps towards preparing and presenting a science fair project.
A comprehensive site with lots of science fair help, including help from Janice VanCleave.
An index from the Internet Public Library to sites that help prepare science fair projects, including sample projects.
An annimated movie explaining the scientific method and its various steps.
Reviews the steps of a good science fair project with hints on such things as report writing and display.
A concise guide to what judges look for at science fair competitions.

Project Ideas

A collection of sites to address the problem of how to get started with a project.
Another listing of ideas by level, and also includes information on the scientific method.
NASA puts together information about such subjects as hurricanes that can be used as jumping points for projects.
Lists science project ideas organized by primary, elementary, and senior levels.
A listing of ideas, with some developed projects, sorted by subject.
Includes project ideas and sample projects created by actual seventh-grade students.
Includes actual science projects arranged by degree of difficulty.

Resources

Where to look for information, primarily focusing on print resources in the Chicago Public Library.
An index of project instructions in print resources, compiled by the staff of the Akron-Summit County Public Library.
Attempts to be a comprehensive list of every science fair accessible through the web, both global and local in scope.

 
Catalog My Account Catalog My Account Catalog My Account